Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

July 13 @ 8:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Jeffrey Gettleman

Details

Date:
July 13
Time:
8:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Venue

Books & Books in Coral Gables
265 Aragon Ave
Coral Gables, FL 33134 United States

Phone:
305-442-4408

Love, Africa: A Memoir of Romance, War, and Survival

A seasoned war correspondent, Jeffrey Gettleman has covered every major conflict over the past twenty years, from Afghanistan to Iraq to the Congo. For the past decade, he has served as the East Africa bureau chief for the New York Times, fulfilling a teenage dream.

At nineteen, Gettleman fell in love, twice. On a do-it-yourself community service trip in college, he went to East Africa—a terrifying, exciting, dreamlike part of the world in the throes of change that imprinted itself on his imagination and on his heart.

But around that same time he also fell in love with a fellow Cornell student—the brightest, classiest, most principled woman he’d ever met. To say they were opposites was an understatement. She became a criminal lawyer in America; he hungered to return to Africa. For the next decade he would be torn between these two abiding passions.

A sensually rendered coming-of-age story in the tradition of Barbarian DaysLove, Africa is a tale of passion, violence, far-flung adventure, tortuous long-distance relationships, screwing up, forgiveness, parenthood, and happiness that explores the power of finding yourself in the most unexpected of places.

About the Author:

Jeffrey Gettleman, winner of the Pulitzer Prize for International Reporting in 2012, is a foreign correspondent for the New York Times. He currently lives in Nairobi, Kenya.