Loading Events

« All Events

December 15 @ 8:00 pm

Free

Orlando Ortega-Medina in conversation with Chef Pepín

Details

Date:
December 15
Time:
8:00 pm
Cost:
Free

Venue

Books & Books in Coral Gables
265 Aragon Ave
Coral Gables, FL 33134 United States

Phone:
305-442-4408

RSVP

148 out of 150 available RSVP | Orlando Ortega-Medina
Send RSVP confirmation to:

Longlisted for the Polari First Book Prize 2017

“Ortega-Medina’s prose is elegant and potent throughout, with visceral passages bathed in lyricism.” —Kirkus Reviews

For fans of Hanif Kureishi and Margaret Atwood, this collection of thirteen gripping and intriguing short stories are about sexuality, death, obsession, and religion. Sometimes bleak, occasionally violent, and often possessed of a dark humor, each story contains charcters who are flawed individuals trying their best to make sense of their lives.

Orlando Ortega-Medina was born in California and is of Judeo-Spanish descent via Cuba. He studied English Literature at University of California, Los Angeles and has a Juris Doctor law degree.

About the Author:

Orlando Ortega-Medina was born in California and is of Judeo-Spanish descent via Cuba. He studied English Literature at UCLA and has a Juris Doctor law degree from Southwestern University School of Law. Orlando is now a British citizen and currently lives in London, where he practices US immigration law. @OOrtegaMedina

BUY THE BOOK


To be interviewed by  Chef Pepín

Topics: identity, Cuban heritage, Crypto-Jewish ancestry 

There is no other face, name and style associated with Latino foods and cooking in US Hispanic television than Chef Pepin. His mass appeal took his brand off-camera to become a true personality with celebrity status in the national Latino community from LA to NY.

Defining the American dream, Chef Pepin is self-made, innovative, talented and driven. These qualities, along with his quick humor, his unmatched charisma and down-to-earth approach to cooking, won the hearts of Latin audiences everywhere.

After more than 25 years on TV and fans spanning several generations, today “Chef Pepin” is a household name amongst Latinos.

Recognized as a credible source and fluently bilingual dynamic presenter garnered him English-language TV appeal to bicultural and non-Hispanic audiences. Among his on English language television: ABC, NBC and CBS affiliates across the country, Lifetime and Bravo, among others.